Postcards: Bali, Jakarta, Fujian

I get butterflies in the pit of my stomach everytime we are about to go overseas. As soon as that day arrives, it’s “F**K THIS I’M OUTTA HERE!!” mentality. I love that feeling of excitement & anticipation of trying out new things, seeing new sights & being mind blown over culture. This time, I went back to Indonesia (Bali & Jakarta) to visit my family, as well as spending another week in China (Fujian) to visit my sister-in-laws side of her family – with our new family! Now that I’m back home & started work, my chest tightens over the thought of leaving our families- which really only felt like yesterday. I find myself constantly thinking of my mom, dad, sisters, brother-in-laws, nieces, nephews…and my sisters-in-laws family. When you leave a hotel room, you leave without attachment- well perhaps with a little remorse that you are not in that nicely decorated room with that great pool anymore. But there’s just something about leaving a ‘home’. I start to wonder about the time over there & try to guess what they are doing at this very moment. Do you guys do that too?

Here are some pictures from our trip.

We stayed at the wonderful Presidential Suite at Villa Seminyak Estate & Spa which is only a 5 minute walk away from the main shopping strip of seminyak & close to Seminyak beach if you catch a cab. We were lucky enough to be able to drive around in Seminyak ourselves

SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC[My dress is from Rosebullet]SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC[These pretty little offerings are part of daily practice of Balinese Hinduism & are a common sight in the streets of Bali- usually perched outside a shop or house doorway. They are to worship the Gods/ spirits present in Bali beliefs]SONY DSC [Back at my home in Jakarta]SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC [I’d have to say there is nothing better that Indo street food. Seriously]SONY DSC SONY DSC [Chinese New Year decoration in Chinatown strip of Jakarta]SONY DSC[‘Gerobak’ rickshaws anyone?]
SONY DSC[In Chinas Fujian Province]SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC [Wearing Kathmandu Jacket, Thermals, Dimepiece beanie & Salvatore Ferragamo booties]SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC[Wearing same outfit as above, but inner Zara Knit similar here, Boots similar here & Oroton aviators]
SONY DSC SONY DSC [A small hike to see a beautiful waterfall which I believe is in Putian- though exact location & name/history of waterfall unknown]SONY DSC

[The old school hallways which I will strangely miss]
SONY DSC[And this face]

IMG_7376

IMG_7380

IMG_7377

Leave a Reply

