Reflections: Table Alone

One of the benefits of having a partner that you live & go to work with everyday, is that you have company in everything you do even when you both have ‘no plans’. At the same time, it leaves little chance for me to do something for myself as all of our decisions are mutual. For example, I might appreciate a mani/pedi when I’m at the mall, but I couldn’t do that if I’m with G- likewise he likes to spend about an hour in JB-HI but he gets rushed by me. We don’t necessarily agree in the same radio station, TV channel or want to eat the same type of food all the time so typically one of us have to give in agree… so when G & the guys went to LA & Vegas for their buckation, I took advantage of the 2 weeks to finally do the things I want to do on my own terms.

On the first Friday alone, I decided to treat myself to dinner out- something I realised that I haven’t done in a while. Braving dinner alone can be intimidating for most & I admit I was too, so I brought a book to read (Scar Tissue by Anthony Kiedis if you are wondering). I was able to take my time, sipping that Pinot Gris slowly, unabashedly flipping through Instagram, read my book, enjoy the window view during dinner without feeling guilty, as well as eat my food as slowly as I liked. There was no doubt I missed G sitting across the table, but having that independence heightened my senses & was liberating in ways I cannot explain. I had forgotten how nice it was to spend time on my own. A table alone was just what I needed & definitely made me appreciate G being back too 🙂

IMG_5567_副本

Leave a Reply

