A Date with Gorilla Grill

One of my few ventures out of the house this week, was to Yarraville Gardens to try my friends gourmet food truck business called Gorilla Grill. Remember this post? When I mentioned I am still quite the tourist in Melbourne even after 12 years, I am far from kidding. Well, it was my first time at Yarraville Gardens & definitely my first in experiencing Melbourne’s growing food truck culture. Sure I’ve tried that odd Chorizo/ Sausage food truck that pop up occasionally at car parks, but never like this. The 40+min drive toward my workplace on a Sunday afternoon would usually be a buzz kill moment, though this time I was SUPER EXCITED to drive even further out past my workplace, just to try Gorilla Grill. After months of hearing rave reviews, salivating & admiring that delicious-you-can-almost-smell-it-and-lick-it pictures via their Facebook page & Instagram photos, I was ecstatic G agreed to come with me to try it. I finally caught up with Jayda the owner & creator, dishing out his creations inspired by his trip to America- with an Asian twist to it by combining flavors from Korea & Southeast Asia (I swear to God that my heart skipped a beat) Jayda is not new to the food industry as well, growing up in Footscray, helping to run the family business- local favorite Vietnamese eatery, Bunta, Jayda’s palate is something to take seriously. I devoured 4 out of their 5 dishes which included Fat Tony’s grilled Korean pork belly, Mama D’s fried chicken ribs, Porkzilla Korean tacos & Kimchi fries. I craved for seconds if it wasn’t the fact that I didn’t want people to know that I can eat like a Hippo. Favourite dishes? Kimchi fries & Mama D’s Chicken Ribs (inspired by Bunta).

I couldn’t have thought of a better way to end the weekend.

Check them out:

20140826-081232.jpg

20140826-081221.jpg

Leave a Reply

