Key Lime Pie

Easy Key Lime Pie recipe!

SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC

I have a slight and unhealthy obsession with lemon & lime based desserts, so for my engagement party, I wanted to make Key Lime Pie for everyone. On the other hand, I’m not exactly a skilled pastry dessert chef, so I resorted to the easiest recipe available online here. Since I received great feedback for it, I thought I’d recreate it for this blog post, though I cheated big time with the tart bases by buying them. 😛

Ingredients:

3 x Egg Yolks

1 Can of Sweetened Condensed Milk

4 x Limes (You will use the juice & also the skin)

2 x Teaspoons of Caster or Icing Sugar

1 x 300ml Double Cream

Method:

Because I bought the tart bases, I just needed to preheat this in the oven for 5 minutes. Add baking paper on top & weigh it down with some rice. After 5 minutes, leave out to cool.

Grate the limes & put zest into separate bowl

Using an electric mixer, mix the 3 yolks & whole can of condensed milk together. Then slowly pour the juice of 4 limes into the mix. Then add some of the zest into the mix (your choice of how much) Pour this mix into cooled tart base. Then put into oven again for about 15 mins (until tart base is golden & crisp)

Allow to cool & then put into fridge. (I had put mine in for 1 hour)

When ready to serve, gently whip the double cream & icing sugar together. Dollop this on top of the cooled tart & add some zest for decoration.

In this post, I also added raspberries just for decoration!

Enjoy~

 

bloglovin1

Leave a Reply

