Simple Wedding DIY Ideas

By no means I am a DIY Master. Most of the things I usually make turn out looking like a kids arts & crafts assignment. And the thought of outsourcing bibs & bobs from various arts stores honestly gives me the cringes.

However, ever since the upcoming wedding, I have been channelling my ‘inner’ DIY goddess hehe. Being able to save a couple of hundreds here & there gives me a sense of accomplishment & pushes me forwards to look for more ideas & inspiration. It also gives me that fulfilment & an imaginary F finger to those wedding suppliers that rip people off.

Hopefully some of these very simple ideas could serve as a guide for you as well:

Wedding bouquets. 

For my sisters wedding back in Sept 2011, we ended up paying nearly a grand for 3 bouquets & 5 boutonnieres & 2 corsages. Keeping in mind my sister & brother in law only had 4 in their bridal party (which included me) And since G & I will be having 11 in our bridal party, that predicted cost is simply impossible to fork out (come on! 1K for flowers?!)

So instead, I will be outsourcing a bulk amount of one of my all time favourite flowers- Gypsophilas aka Baby’s Breath. Buying in bulk also means I could get it at wholesale prices. Gypsophilas are not only affordable, they are beautiful, dreamy like & extremely hardy & long lasting throughout the hot summer weather. (Our wedding will be in Dec- so in the summer for Melbourne)

I will be making my bridesmaids bouquets- a total of 6! All I need is a bunch cut into desired stem length, ribbon in your choice of colour, or for a more rustic theme, twine is also great & affordable! voila~

Below are some of  the pictures that inspired me. This method is not limited to just Baby’s Breath, you can have Roses or Lisianthus & there are many videos available on YouTube to help you.

One of the links that really helped me is this. Check it out! 🙂

AustinBeccaDetails92 acf1387 babys-breath-bouquets-4

Babys-Breath-Buttonhole

Wine Bottle Table Numbers: 

I don’t want to settle for the tacky default table numbers option that come with the venue. Instead, I have collected used wine bottles & reused them as ‘chalkboard’ table numbers! (If you are not a wine drinker, ask your friends to save you some empty bottles!)

On top of that, I have purchased the below just from an arts & craft store

1. Chalkboard paint

2. A rolley sponge brush & tray

3. Twine

All you have to do, is soak the wine bottles in hot water (give it about 20-30 mins), until you are able to peel off the labels easily. Once peeled off, wipe bottle clean of any glue residue using baby oil or vinegar & dry. Then give a couple of generous coats of Chalkboard paint (for mine I did 3 times, allowing some time to dry in between) & voila!

Just use Chalk or White permanent marker to draw cute designs for table numbers!

Some of pictures that inspired me from Pinterest.

chalkboard-wine-tobble

 

Alternatively you can stick printed table numbers on the filled wine bottles & give that away to a random guest on the table!

Wine-Bottle-Table-Numbers

Hope these help! 🙂

Leave a Reply

