Can we stop Racism?

Hey everyone…

Just want to share some thoughts.

Came across this when I was reading Xiaxue’s blog take-down of Peter Coffin, & my first reaction was that I got offended when I saw this image.

Chop Suey Specs…kind of a racist toy isn’t it? The sad thing is, this toy was made in HK.

But, when you think about it, we are all racist or pre-judiced to a certain extent, right?

SO, why do I get upset with this toy, when- let’s say  there was a Mexican themed party, & guests can rock up wearing ponchos, fake moustaches, & sombrero…and that’s supposed to be ok?

And the fact that we get offended when we get told to ‘go back to our country’ or being labelled a ‘ching-chong’ etc, but it’s OK & funny to poke fun of your own race e.g. Asian guy donning a Vietnamese hat, singlet, shorts & thongs & speak English in an exaggerated Vietnamese accent e.g. Youtuber MyChonny. Or when we refer to other new immigrants as ‘fobs’ (fresh-off-the-boat)….Isn’t that being hypocritical? Giving more reasons for others to make fun of our race?

I think of it as the same concept as the above picture.

Truthfully I myself have made some racist comments  & have my own prejudices…I’m not going to act like I’ve never done anything wrong before & I am ashamed to be impulsively offended by the image above because at the end of the day, I am my own culprit too…but this is what made me realise why our world is so fucked up.

To expect change in the world, we need to first change ourselves, our perceptions & our actions…or else, this cycle won’t end.

I will learn from my mistakes & hope to be a better person.

 

 

Leave a Reply

