the One & Only…

“I continued to stare, clueless, until Elisa leaned in closer & said, : “Look. At. Her. Bag. Just try & tell me it’s not the most gorgeous thing you’ve ever seen.”

My eyes went to the large leather bag the woman had nesting in the crook of her elbow while she ordered her coffee. When it came time to pay, she rested it on the counter, rooted through it, & pulled out her wallet before returning the bag to her arm. Elisa groaned inaudibly. It looked like any other bag to me, just bigger.

“Ohmigod. I can barely stand it, it’s so amazing. It’s the crocodile Birkin. Rarest of them all…..you’ve heard of Hermes, right?”

I nodded & saw a wave of relief wash over her face.

“Yes, well, much more important than their ties are their bags. The first huge hit was the Kelly bag, named for Grace Kelly when she began carrying it. But the really big one- about a thousand times more prestigious- is the Birkin.”

Elisa sighed. “…That one’s probably in the twenty grand range. It’s so worth it.”

I inhaled so quickly that I swallowed wrong & actually choked. “It’s how much? You’re joking. That’s impossible! It’s a purse….I can’t imagine people lining up to spend that much on a bag,” I pointed out.

“Christ, Bette, you really have no clue, do you?…

You just don’t get it. It’s not just a bag. It’s a lifestyle. It’s a statement. It summarizes who you are as a person. It’s a reason for living.”

From the book ‘Everyone Worth Knowing’ by Lauren Weisberger

the best selling author of ‘The Devil Wears Prada.’

Leave a Reply

